maryland marriage laws

Maryland Marriage License Requirements


While we have lots of flexibility, the one "must have" for your wedding ceremony is a valid Marriage License. Before I can marry you, I need to receive a marriage license showing that it is valid for the date and time of your ceremony.

You can obtain the license from the Clerk of the Court's office in the city/county where you will be married. More information on that is below.

The license must be free from any marks or changes, so please do not write on it.


Below is some information you may find useful regarding obtaining a marriage license in the state of Maryland.


This information is not legal guidance and may change or be interpreted differently over time. Please be sure to clarify and confirm with the Clerk of the Court before going to get your license.

  • You must obtain a valid marriage license from the city/county in which you will be married. To find the most recent contact information for the courthouse,please search for "Marriage license courthouse" and the name of the county/city in which you will be married.
  • There is a two day waiting period after the license is issued, so please plan ahead.
  • Charges for a marriage license vary depending on the county of issue. You can expect to pay between $40-$75 (cash)
  • You will need identification in the form of a driver's license or birth certificate. Only one applicant need be present.
  • It is not necessary that you be a resident of Maryland.
  • You must be 18 years old or older to marry without parental consent.
  • No blood test or physical exam is required.
  • If previously married, you may need a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate that ended that marriage. Decree or death date may suffice. Check with the courthouse to be sure.